Red Hat Certified Engineer-RHCE EXAMS INFORMATIONS-Suresh Dangi

RHCE exam assesses the candidates ability to do the following:

1-Install and configure Red Hat Linux
2-Configure file systems and networking
3-Configure X, the graphical user interface used on Unix and Linux systems
4-Configure basic security
5-Configure network services
6-Perform routine maintenance
7-Perform diagnostics and troubleshooting
Because Red Hat regularly updates its Linux distribution, RHCE certification is not valid indefinitely. However, according to Red Hat policy, RHCE certification remains valid for at least one year.

RHCE Courses and Exam
as part of its RHCE program, Red Hat offers several courses designed to prepare candidates for the RHCE exam. Candidates must take course RH302, which is the exam itself. However, candidates can take none, some, or all of the other courses.
This section describes the RHCE courses offered by Red Hat, as well as the RH302 exam.

RH033: Introduction to Red Hat Linux I, II
RH033 is a four-day course intended for users who have no previous Unix or Linux experience. Students should, however, have previous experience with a computer, including use of a mouse and graphical user interface. Upon completion of the course, the student should be able to use and customize the GNOME desktop and be able to use the Linux command shell.

RH133: Red Hat Linux System Admin I, II
RH133 is a four-day course intended for users who are familiar with Red Hat Linux. Before taking this course, students should complete RH033 or possess equivalent experience. Upon completion of the course, students should be able to install and configure Red Hat Linux, X, and various network services and clients, such as DHCP, NIS, NFS, and Samba. Students should also be able to perform basic troubleshooting and rebuild the Linux kernel from source code.

RH253: Red Hat Linux Networking and Security Admin
RH253 is a four-day course intended for Unix or Linux system administrators. Before taking this course, students should complete RH133 or possess equivalent experience. Upon completion of the course, students should be able to install and configure network services such as Apache, DHCP, DNS, FTP, Samba, NFS, sendmail, and IMAP4/POP3 mail. Students should also be able to establish and administor a security policy that includes such elements as password security, kernel security, public/private key encryption, Kerberos, secure shell, and firewalls.

RH300 is a five-day course that includes RH302, the RHCE exam, as an integral part of the course. Before taking this course, students should complete RH253 or possess equivalent experience and have experience as a Unix or Linux system or network administrator. The course consists of four days of instruction, and the fifth day is devoted to the RHCE exam. Upon completion of the course, students should be prepared to manage a Red Hat Linux system that offers common TCP/IP services, such as FTP and HTTP. The course includes eight units of instruction, each of which has one or more hands-on labs associated with the following topics:

Hardware and Installation (x86 Architecture)
Configuration and Administration
Alternate Installation Methods
Kernel Services and Configuration
Standard Networking Services
X Window System
User and Host Security
Routers, Firewalls, Clusters, and Troubleshooting
RH302: RHCE Exam
Though styled by Red Hat as a course, RH302 is not a course in the ordinary sense of the word. Instead, RH302 is the RHCE exam, which has duration of one day. RH302 is the only course that RHCE candidates must take. The exam consists of the following three closed-book components:

Diagnosis and troubleshooting lab (2 1/2 hours)
Installation and configuration lab (2 1/2 hours)
Multiple choice exam (1 hour)
Effective May 1, 2009, the RHCE exam is a single section lasting 3.5 hours. Previously, it had been two sections lasting a combined 5.5 hours. The content has be consolidated and reorganized into a single section in which time is used more efficiently. The RHCE exam consists of RHCT components (essentially the RHCT exam) plus RHCE-specific components. It is possible to earn RHCT in an RHCE exam if one has met the RHCT requirements but not the RHCE ones.

The components are not always presented in the same sequence. The course instructor, who acts as the exam proctor, will determine the sequence and announce it early in the day. The three components are equally weighted at 100 points each. The minimum passing score is 240 points, or 80 percent. However, a candidate must score at least 50 points (50 percent) on each exam component to pass the exam. Red Hat advises candidates of their exam scores by e-mail within 10 business days of taking the exam.

Because the RHCE exam is performance-based, it’s crucial that you have, or develop, experience in working with Unix or Linux and related network services. This step by step guide is focus to get your RHCE certification by present practical exercises.
These exercises can be time-consuming, and you may feel that they’re unnecessary. However, unless you have extensive practical experience, you should perform every exercise. Often, exercises will lead you to discover subtle points not evident merely from reading the exercise. If your practical experience with Unix and Linux is small, you should construct and perform your own additional exercises. The RHCE exam tests for the equivalent of about two years of experience with Linux and networking. With diligent effort, you can accumulate that experience in a matter of weeks. However, doing so will require that you skimp nowhere.


, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: